Inca Trail trek training: CARE International’s Walk in Her Shoes Campaign

Picture2

As part of my Inca Trail trek training, I’m participating in CARE International’s Walk In Her Shoes campaign. The idea is I’ll walk 10,000 steps over two weeks in March, and do fundraising activities ti raise awareness and funds for Care International, a non-religious not-for-profit aid organisation which focuses on the needs of women and children.

I’m doing this program for two reasons:

One, I like Care International: I personally believe aid and charity work in developing countries is extremely important. While brilliant organisations, World Vision and most other aid groups usually have a religious imperative behind the good work they do. I’m also quite supportive of organisations which aim to help women in developing countries.

Two, I am desperately unfit, and even with a couple of months training I have a long way to go! I’m looking for encouragement from friends and family (and blog readers) to get my butt into gear!

From the website:

“Imagine if you had to walk at least 10,000 steps or eight kilometres a day in the blistering sun or torrential rain while carrying 20 kilograms on your back or head. This is a reality for millions of women and girls in developing countries who are burdened by hours of walking each day to collect food, water and firewood for their families. What’s worse is that hours spent walking reduce the time women and girls have to overcome poverty by going to school, accessing health services and earning an income.” http://www.walkinhershoes.org.au/facts

If you’d like to contribute a couple of dollars, my sponsor page is here: https://walkinhershoes2013.everydayhero.com/au/kazzamerlot

Leave a comment