Caustic Soda Burns

Not meaning to gross people out, but I have to share these photos of a pair of caustic-soda burns I had recently. A few weeks back I cleaned my shower, not realising the caustic soda I’d put down the drain a week earlier had not dissolved. The soda mixed weakly with the vinegar and bi carb I was using, and when I washed my hands I didn’t wash my arms. A few hours later red splotches appeared; within a day two tiny blisters had appeared; by two days my arms were a motley array of scabby blisters, including a 5cm square one on my right wrist. It was a short healing period: within two weeks the last silver bandage came off. Now I have arms that are splotched the colours of neopolitan icecream (!). The colour will take time to fade.

Some of the early photos are a bit urky.

Leave a comment